jump to navigation

Footed vessel April 30, 2010

Posted by Elena in ceramic, paper resist, pottery, stoneware, wheel thrown.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

 

Footed vessel. Approx.12" high x 8.5" wide. Stoneware, reduction cone 10, dipped and sprayed glazes; paper resist

It’s been awhile since my last post. Suddenly life got busy, with classes, shows, committees, birthday parties, and other wonderful events all happening at the same time. I was pushing myself to keep working on my plates and happy to say that I am almost ready for firing. In the mean time I also worked hard on my college projects. Two of my personal favorites are shown in this and the next post.

Shown above is the footed vessel that I threw on the wheel in 3 pieces and assembled. For decoration I dipped the vessel in one glaze and then sprayed the second glaze over the paper resist designs. I think it turned out nice, especially since I am only beginning to learn the wheel. Obviously, there is a long way to go but working on the wheel can be fun and I am definitely planning to continue.

Footed vessel, 1200-1000 B.C., Thailand

This is an inspiration piece that I found in Robin Hopper’s book. This earthenware vessel is dated to 1200-1000 B.C. and comes from Thailand. Amazing quality of work, beautiful proportions.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

